Should You “ContactThem”? A Tempting Scam…

by Cooee on July 13, 2008

We’ve seen your website at
and we love it!

We see that your traffic rank is 20204091
and your link popularity is 4.
Also, you have been online since 20/07/2004.

With that kind of traffic, we will pay you up to $4,800/month
to advertise our links on your website.

When you click on one of their referral links an audio begins and reads the content to you. Its very convincing and compelling - but gives you that “too good to be true” sense.

It didnt take much digging to find the name behind the network: Stephan Ducharme. Ring a bell? You may remember him as as “The FreeAdGuru”.

Ducharme is selling the ContactThem software which extracts details out of databases and allows you to do a mass mailing with all of that personalized information. In fact, if you’ve received an email like the one quoted above, that’s exactly why you got it - one of Ducharme’s affiliates extracted YOUR details out of a database and spammed you with their ContactThem affiliate link…

While it sounds like they are going to pay you “up to $4,800/month” to display links on your website or blog - which sounds like an offer for text link or banner advertising - they are actually trying to recruit you into the multi-tier affiliate program.

Basically you are being spammed, with a request to join the band of spammers.

Stephan Ducharme is known for good copy, and also for getting a viral campaign kicked off with a huge buzz. But he is also known for bad customer service, not honoring refunds and under-delivering.

When in doubt, do your research. But as for this particular email… if you receive one like it, hit the DELETE key and move on.

Source: www.clicknewz.com

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>